Five More Recommendations
from 57th Street Books Staff

February 18th, 2009 by EVENTS

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

A memoir that stays with you, Ms. Walls’ upbringing was equal parts sad & romantic. very readable with a no-regrets tone. Great & gritty. [Ann]

A Great Idea at the Time: The Rise, Fall, and Curious Afterlife of the Great Books by Alex Beam

This slender bit of journalism by U of C spawn Alex Beam offers a sort of Great Books genealogy, treating all the usual suspects like John Erskine, Robert Hutchins, and Stringfellow Barr with insight and good humor. The book is a delight for anyone who cares about Columbia or the U of C’s core or St. John’s Great Books. [Irami]

A Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks

Set during the 17th Century plague, this novel wages an intriguing physical and mental battle. Compelling female characters make this a great read for fans of Barbara Kingsolver or Isabel Allende. Read it on the plane, and you won’t be disappointed. [Angela]

The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa; trans. by Richard Zenith

A book of fragments with the logic and texture of dreams by a poet of many identities adamant about the superiority of dreams over waking life. For lovers of Calvino, Cortazar, Borges, etc. [Hannah]

Essential Dykes to Watch Out For by Alison Bechdel

This handsome hardcover edition collects significant strips from the entire run of Bechdel’s groundbreaking series, which effortlessly combines soap-opera drama and biting social commentary with ribald humor. Great for the novice and the longtime fan. [Andrea]

Come see our in-store display
for more great staff recommendations.

Posted in Book Lists


(comments are closed).